Tani Sushi Bistro – Clayton, MO

Tani Sushi Bistro is known in St. Louis as a hip place. I came here with my co-worker on a Monday evening, it was my first time to Tani. First was impression was nice setting, dark modern setting with a little Asian decor. From my friends … this place is very packed Friday nights and weekends.

Our Monday evening wasn’t so bad, I did made reservation. We were seated promptly.

Sorry, the pictures are so dark (it was pretty dark inside) and I didn’t have my camera with me.

Tani Sushi Bistro

Tani Sushi Bistro

Inside

Inside

We ordered some sashimi, special rolls, and nigiri.

Sashimi … I am a little disappointed. We ordered 12 pcs chef’s pick sashimi – 3 tuna, 3 salmon, 3 albacore, 3 tako (octopus). The tuna wasn’t fully thaw, I bite into a little frost. The salmon was pretty good. Not worth $22 in my opinion.

12 pcs sashimi combo (chef's pick)

12 pcs sashimi combo (chef’s pick)

Then we some speciality rolls. There is really NOTHING ultimate about the Ultimate Roll! Just so plain even with the sauce.

The worst was the Albacore Jalapeno Roll – so bland, I just taste the rice and the jalapeno :/

Rainbow roll and Soft Shell Crab roll was okay, I have had better ones.

tani4

Special Rolls:
Bottom (with some sauce) – The Ultimate Roll $14
Flower Shape – Albacore Japapeno Roll $12
Seaweed Wrap – Soft Shell Crab Roll $9
Top – Rainbow Roll $11

Lastly, we had 2 pcs of Ikura nigiris $5.90/2pcs (I forgot to take picture). Actually the waitress forgot about this one, I had to remind her. Ikura was ok.

I am not very impress with the food quality. The total bill comes to about $85 for 2 person. This is probably one of the highest price sushi in town. I think I can have same or better sushi elsewhere.

Tani Sushi Bistro
16 South Bemiston Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63105
(314) 727-8264

Leave a Reply

