LOS ANGELES TRIP (DAY 3) – BOILING POINT 沸點臭臭鍋, CHINO HILLS

After a long, dreadful, awful 9 hours drive … finally back to Irvine area. Oh my god, I’ve never experienced this kind of traffic! Way too much for me. I was sleeping for the most part. Poor hubby was driving and my friend was sitting in the back. A 4.5 hour drive turn into 9 hours, arrggghhh!!

Anyways, first thing back in Irvine is dinner! My friend suggested to go to the famous Boiling Point 沸點臭臭鍋, popular for their personal size hot pot. I’ve heard about this place, currently the 1st Boiling Point is being estbalish in Fremont Bay Area. Hopefully opening soon.

The place was still pretty packed despite it was 9:45pm, still a short line. The wait wasn’t that bad. Menu was simple, you order your hot pot, pick either rice or noodles with it. About 10 hot pots to pick from, you can add more items for additional cost.

At first I ordered the Seafood Hot Pot, they were out. I changed to Curry Fish Ball, they were out too!! Finally they have Thai Flavor Hot Pot, medium spicy – the pot was pretty good size, I opted for noodles. It comes with crab, shrimp, clams, pork, baby octopus. It has lemongrass flavor, not bad.

Thai Flavor Hot Pot

Thai Flavor Hot Pot

My friend ordered the House Special Hot Pot, medium spicy – it has pork blood, fermented tofu, pork, mushrooms. I didn’t try, but the fermented tofu doesn’t smell at all, which is good 😛

House Special Hot Pot

House Special Hot Pot

Finally hubby ordered their seasonal off menu special Wine Hot Pot, medium spicy (I forgot the actual name, something about wine) – tofu, pork, wood ear … it has a light wine taste, very refreshing.

Wine Hot Pot

Wine Hot Pot

Each hot pot gets a roll of noodles. Three kinds of dipping sauce were on the table, my friend’s ultimately favorite and recommendation is Chili Bean Sauce! I think he can drink out from the bottle! It was pretty good, not overly salty or spicy, perfect balance.

We opted for noodles with our hot pots & chili bean sauce

We opted for noodles with our hot pots & chili bean sauce

We got free dessert drinks with our meal, some kind of sour drinks with chia seeds. It was ok ….

Free dessert drinks

Free dessert drinks

Boiling Point 沸點臭臭鍋 @ Chino Hills

Boiling Point 沸點臭臭鍋 @ Chino Hills

Boiling Point 沸點臭臭鍋 @ Chino Hills

Boiling Point 沸點臭臭鍋 @ Chino Hills

 

One thought on “LOS ANGELES TRIP (DAY 3) – BOILING POINT 沸點臭臭鍋, CHINO HILLS

  1. Pingback: 9119 CAFE, TAIWANESE HOT POT 三媽嗅嗅鍋 – NEWARK, CA (BAY AREA) | Sandi's Log

Leave a Reply

