CAUSEWAY BAY BISTRO 銅鑼灣 – FREMONT, CA (BAY AREA)

I’ve been busy with my project at work … so there will be slow updates. Hopefully I can get it done soon.

Anyways, lets write about a restaurant I visited last month in the Little Taipei Plaza in Fremont – Causeway Bay Bistro 銅鑼灣. I have to add this to my disappointed list. This place was packed but food was bad 😦

All the stir fry dishes were cooked with mushrooms, mushrooms, mushrooms. No wok hei 鑊氣 in any dishes, taste like sauteed veggies tossed in sauce.

We started off with Black Truffle Roasted Duck – I don’t know why its called black truffle roasted duck, I can’t taste any truffle in it whatsoever. Just tasted like a regular roasted duck to me with a higher price tag.

Black Truffle Roasted Duck - taste the same as regular roasted duck to me

Black Truffle Roasted Duck – taste the same as regular roasted duck to me

Beef cubes and scallop in special sauce – all the stir fry dishes taste the same to us. All with mushrooms, mushrooms, mushrooms … same type of sauce!!! No wok hei 鑊氣!!

Beef cubes and scallop in special sauce

Beef cubes and scallop in special sauce

Sauteed Pork Cheek in Special Black Bean Sauce – again with mushrooms and sauce, no wok hei dish.

Sauteed Pork Cheek in Special Black Bean Sauce

Sauteed Pork Cheek in Special Black Bean Sauce

Stir Fry Bamboo Pith, Wolfberries and veggies – yup, more mushrooms!

Stir Fry Bamboo Pith, Wolfberries and veggies

Stir Fry Bamboo Pith, Wolfberries and veggies

Sea Cucumber with Mix Mushrooms in Claypot – mushroom champion! This is not even cooked in claypot … they just cook this dish and put into the claypot. The claypot edge looks sparkling clean. I seriously think they just sauteed everything and toss in the sauce, and served!

Sea Cucumber with Mix Mushrooms in Claypot

Sea Cucumber with Mix Mushrooms in Claypot

Do yourself a favor, skip this … go to Aberdeen Cafe instead (just couple doors down).

Leave a Reply

